I’ll Keep on Smiling

If you ask me if I’m okay
I’ll tell you I’m fine thank you
I’ll put on a real big smile
And ask are you too?

As each day goes by
My heart feels more sorrow
But ask me how I’m doing
I’ll say “I’ll tell you tomorrow”

Losing things you care about
Isn’t an easy thing
And yet I will still smile
No matter what sadness fate may bring

My heart is broken
Shattered you see
But you won’t look past the smile
At the person that’s truly me

I wish I could tell you
What’s going on in my life
But I’ve been cut too deep
By a truth bringing knife

My eyes have finally opened
To the path as clear as day
I’m not worth that much to anyone
But I guess it’s okay

In life you can’t expect it all
Some things need to go
Even those you think you’d have forever
Are meant to slow

You can’t see through my mask
I’ll let you in now and then
But not even you can see the real me
Not even could my closest friends

Because I just keep on smiling
And grin through the pain
And as long as everyone else is happy
I have everything to gain

– Kauthar

3 thoughts on “I’ll Keep on Smiling

Leave a Reply

